2020 Matula Award Winner – Helen Fedor

The SASW board is pleased to announce Helen Fedor as the winner of this year’s Matula Award.

Helen has been a long-time SASW member and has served in a variety of roles (membership chair, vice president, president and program chair).  During her time on the board, she helped to revise the by-laws and supported efforts to obtain non-profit status for the society.  Helen has been the driving force behind many of the society’s efforts.  As the program chair, she has led the Speakers’ series and coordinated many special events, including the annual picnics, Svätý Mikuláš parties, Café Night scholarship fundraisers, conversation groups, and cooking events.
Helen’s leadership and personal devotion of time, energy, and knowledge have significantly contributed to the success of SASW in fulfilling its mission as a social, cultural, and educational organization.  We truly appreciate her efforts and are pleased to recognize her as the first recipient of the Steve Matula award.

The SASW board would like to thank Chris SedlockCarol Fedorchak, and Marcel Lorincz for serving on this year’s award selection committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *